Press "Enter" to skip to content

WhatsApp Not Limiting Users Over New Privacy Policy

WhatsApp users will be able to continue using their accounts even if they don’t accept the new privacy policy it rolled out earlier this month. Before the policy was implemented on May 15th, the Facebook-owned chat service wrote in an article that it was going to gradually limit the features people can access until they accept the new policy terms. Now, it looks like WhatsApp has decided to change its approach in hopes of not losing its current users.

WhatsApp said that it has no current plans for the reminders to become insistent, so they will perhaps pop up occasionally and not often enough to be troublesome. The texting service first introduced the updated privacy policy quite abruptly in January, addressing the growth of its commercial messaging tools and its new shopping features. Facebook plays a crucial role in enabling all these new features, and apparently, the business interactions on WhatsApp could also influence the ads which we see on Facebook.

 A lot of users already understood that as WhatsApp is forcing its users to share more data with Facebook, it would result in massive criticism that would prompt the company to postpone the policy. WhatsApp then decided to re-introduce it in February and give people some more time to review the changes. The service firstly warned that it would prevent you from using the app altogether unless you agree to the new policy terms. That is no longer an issue, though WhatsApp could still change its mind in the future.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.