Press "Enter" to skip to content

Users Can Block Unwanted Followers in Twitter

Twitter unveiled a new feature that gives users more control over who can interact with them, essentially allowing users to ‘soft block’ their followers. The feature is currently available to everyone using Twitter on the web. The company hasn’t revealed when the feature will be available for the app.

To remove a follower, head to your profile and click ‘Followers’. After that click the three dots next to their name and select ‘Remove this follower’.Twitter said that this action will remove the user from your followers without them being notified of the removal. But the account can still follow you again in the future.

After being removed, the account will no longer be able to see your tweets in their timeline, but they will be able to send direct messages. The company’s new Safety Mode feature began rolling out to testers. It is an algorithm that identifies accounts that are sending abuse or repetitive mentions to other users and automatically blocks them for seven days.

Some users resorted to a workaround called a “soft block,” which entailed blocking an abusive user, which removed that person from the list of followers, then unblocking them. Twitter is working on several privacy tools, including archiving tweets, hiding liked tweets and leaving conversations. The social media platform is testing a feature that drops a notice under a potentially contentious exchange, stating: “Heads up. Conversations like this can be intense.”

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.