Public links to an incalculable number of Google Drive and YouTube items will soon stop operating. Google is changing the way it handles link sharing on both platforms in the name of improved security. While current users may opt-out of the change, files and movies left on unused or defunct accounts may disappear forever.
Because shared links are now part of a newer system, Google claims that it improves security. The revised YouTube connections appear to be more challenging to guess or access without being explicitly granted access. The newer links also tie more activity to specific accounts and require visitors to log in, allowing access to be tracked and added to each user’s profile. Any public videos but marked as “Unlisted” on YouTube will be affected by the changes.
Reuploading those films and marking them as Unlisted is the only other option. A similar update is coming to Google Drive, as reported on the Workspace Updates blog earlier today. When you click a link to view cloud-stored data, you’ll see a resource key that specifies who has access and doesn’t. If you’ve already accessed a file, you’ll have access to it again, and if you have direct access, you’ll be able to use it again.